The Kindness of Strangers

The last few days have been spent destroying the poor goblins of Solusek’s Eye. And I mean massive slaughter, like multiple generations worth of goblins. And what did I do while this was going on? Mostly sit on my proverbial ass.

After my initial excursion, I was excited to go back and get some serious xp flow. Though my sessions were limited to about 2 hours after work, I was hoping the zone wouldn’t be camped at that hour (10:30PM-12:30AM). I was happy to find that was the case upon login. I killed my way in to a safe spot, and sent a LFM message into general to see if I got any bites. I got a response from a kind soul offering a druid for the group. Little did I know what I was in for.

It turned out the druid was actually a box of a 60 enchanter. Quite a nice guy too. He arrived, informed me he was drunk, and that we were going to PL. He was having issues with getting his laptop to work right, but he got it fixed and began to kill. “What could go wrong?” I asked myself. As it turned out, nothing at all! With the enchanter pulling trains, and the druid doing a PBAE, we started a massive goblin eradication crusade. XP was coming in faster than Donald Trump’s late night twitter feed.

It was actually pretty fun, despite me being pretty much useless as far as killing was concerned. He was talking crap to himself on each character, and generally being an amusing oddball. It even wore off on me and I started smack talking my boxed shaman. In retrospect, maybe I am an oddball too. Oh well!

I offered to assist in paying for some of the peridots he was using for rune, but he refused. A genuinely nice guy, he wanted to help out and preferred having someone else in group for banter and general good vibes. We knocked out some levels right away. I informed him I would be back the next day, same time and place. He said he would be too.

The next night, true to his word, he showed up right after I logged in, this time with another person at the same level as me and in the same situation – just happy to be getting an assist from a nice guy, for no reason other than he wanted to help. His buddy he brought along, another SK, was also nice to meet.

This time I kept busy by making some socials and mass casting my low casting skills, since by now I had gotten FD on my SK, and Cannibalize on my shaman. FD turned out to be abjuration, which aside from low level resist buffs there isn’t much that uses that magic skill (and gets used regularly). Since I didn’t plan on fizzling for 15 seconds while hoping FD would cast, I started bringing that skill up to par on my SK right away (the other guy was also an SK, and followed my lead since he also had low skill). My shaman also needed some skills in conjuration for a new DoT. I also realized I could just grab SK spells when my shaman made a spell gathering run, since SK spell vendors are right near the shaman spell vendors in Cab. After another night of goblin genocide, I ended up at 26 with my SK and 23 with my SHM. Moving right along to breaking 30!

ComingAlong

The mighty duo, standing over their fallen foes… did not make any goblin friends today!

Leave a comment