Filthy Goblins and a Quick Swim

Cheerings

The scourge of the fire goblins pre-gaming at the zone in

DubThee

I now dub thee Sir Headless

Forboding

What a pleasant cave. Look, someone is even napping next to the fire…

Minor update today. Only had an hour or so of playtime, but I decided to try out SolA and see what kind of adventures could be had. I snagged a port to Lavastorm and made my way in with my SK and Shaman. There were a couple full groups already inside at other camps, but I was able to pull the 3-4 goblins near the entrance to see what kind of fights and xp I would get. I was very pleasantly surprised to find the XP here was amazing. I ended up duo’ing here for the majority of my play time. Even my 22 SK was getting good xp off the blue cons (and occasional white con), while my shaman had better gains off the yellow and red cons. I did have two incidents occur. My SK snare wore off a goblin who ran at low HP and warped through a wall, disappearing from view. He sent quite a few of his buddies to find me, and my SK ate a death while my shaman made his escape. A quick port back and I was in business again.

Of course, my poor SK then fell into the lava and had to make a hot swim to SolB. When I got into SolB, I prepared to rush the exit, though I only had about 40% hp left (I struggled to find the way out of the lava pit). As I began my hopeless evacuation, I was rooted by a couple Kobolds. I attempted to use my wimpy lifetap to survive until root wore off, but death was near. As I watched my health hit 5%, then dip to 0%, I knew it was over. I waited a few seconds for the death notification, but nothing happened. I was still alive! I turned around wondering what the hell was going on, to find a level 60 Epic’ed Iksar monk standing over the bodies of the Kobolds. I had no idea where he came from, but he miraculously saved my bacon. I thanked him, joking he was my guardian angel. I turned and looked to see if any Kobolds were ahead, turned back around and he was gone. I made a quick dash to the zone line, then headed back to join my shaman at the entrance to SolA. Killed a few more mobs, ending with about a 30% – 40% gain on both toons. Not bad considering it was mostly a scouting expedition. I plan to return and hopefully join a group or get one going.

Leave a comment