Assassinating the Assassin (And Friends)

 

Wolfy

One of the druid’s new spells, share wolf form. I had a strange urge to knaw on froglok bones…

Started off tonight by logging in to the land of the undead frogs once again. Sent out a LFG request, and contacted a monk I had played with a few days before who was advertising for a LGuk group. We formed up, and I checked the picks to see which would be the best bet. Turned out the non pick version of the zone only had 12 people in it, as opposed to 21 and 24 for the other two that were up. I zoned over and headed to the assassin camp, which we found open. Loving invis vs undead! A chanter and druid who had joined the group met me there, and while waiting for a monk and wizard to arrive, we started to kill us some froggies.

Unfortunately, the monk had not been to Lguk for some time, and got lost on the way. The wizard did not fair well either, and died en route. The monk ended up making it to zone, but pulled some agro from frogs and died at zone in as I was heading there to cast invis vs undead on him. Sadly he decided to log out of frustration, since he had died twice and lost a level. This zone can be pretty unforgiving.

We filled our missing spot and the killing continued, with little mishap. I was actually the puller and MT, which was a bit challenging while running the shaman too. However, setting up some social macros helped a good bit. Backup healing was very important for alpha damage from larger pulls and helping keep the chanter up when his charm broke. The pulling here is kind of a crapshoot. With the way the walls are designed, with the narrow spaces and lack of sight, apparently single pulls usually ended up being 3-4 mobs at a time. It is also easy to lose your orientation, since there are so many twists and turns. The enchanter was keeping very busy tonight!

We had a good killing pace, and I was able to pull all the way to the executioner at one point. Sadly a group moved down there and snagged the named when it repopped. We did get a lot of named though, including supplier, assassin, savant, and scribe. No upgrade drops for me yet, but a nice BP dropped that I considered. I decided against it, opting for losing 5 ac but gaining 10 stamina. Not sure if it was a good choice, but I figure it is pretty much a wash.

The exp here is awesome. In about 2.5 hours, I knocked out two levels on my SK, bringing him to 34 (and 60% into level), and three levels on my shaman, ending at 33. Finally got an HP buff better than inner fire, which was nice. I used origin at the end of the night, as I will need to grab new spells before I head back to grouping. I was quite surprised how fast I made it through the levels, and didn’t buy as far ahead as I should have. I guess that’s not a bad thing though!

Leave a comment